2022 World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize)

May 4, 2022

The WLA Prize is an international science prize that recognizes and supports eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science. It is initiated by the WLA in shanghai, in 2021, managed by the WLA Development Foundation, and exclusively funded by Sequoia China.

The inaugural WLA Prize consists of two single prizes, namely the “WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics” and the “WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine”.

The Inaugural WLA Prize Award Ceremony took place on 6 November 2022 during the Opening Ceremony of the WLA Forum in Shanghai.

The WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics and the WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine were
awarded to Michael I. Jordan and Dirk Görlich.
Michael I. Jordan, the 2022 WLA Prize Laureate in Computer Science or Mathematics won the award “for fundamental contributions to the foundations of machine learning and its application.” Jordan is now Professor of Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences & Department of Statistics, UC Berkeley.

Dirk Görlich, the 2022 WLA Prize Laureate in Life Science or Medicine, was awarded the prize “For key discoveries elucidating the mechanism and selectivity of protein transport between the cytoplasm and nucleus.” Görlich is the Scientific member and Director with Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences.

Click here to read the press release.

More News

2023 International Day of Immunology

February 23, 2023

IUIS celebrates the International Day of Women and Girls in Science on February 11

February 9, 2023

IUIS-FAIS-SANTHE-ISZ-Immuno-Zambia 2022

December 21, 2022Education Committee (EDU)

Funding Opportunity from IUIS and FOCIS for Young Immunologists from the Developing World

December 1, 2022Gender Equality Committee (GEC)

IUIS-GEC National Gender Equality Campaign – Competition4ideas

November 29, 2022Gender Equality Committee (GEC)

Results of the 2022-2025 Elections – Executive Committee and Council Members  

November 21, 2022

News from ICLAS – November Bulletin

November 17, 2022

IUIS ImmunoArgentina 2022 and 2nd Argentinean Spring Course In Advanced Immunology (ASCAI-II)

November 10, 2022Education Committee (EDU)

EDU/IUIS-BIS WORKSHOP 2022 Report – Flow cytometry: from basic principles to research applications

November 10, 2022Education Committee (EDU)