Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist (DVI) Award 2023

March 21, 2023Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

Call for Nominations

New deadline: March 31, 2023

The Veterinary Immunology Committee of the IUIS invites nominations for the Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist (DVI) Award.

The Zoetis DVI Award will be presented at IVIS2023 in South Africa (November 17 – 21, 2023) accompanied by a presentation by the recipient.

The Award comprises a plaque, costs of the awardee’s registration, travel and accommodation to IVIS2023, and an honorarium.

Nominations will be accepted through March 31, 2023 to Crystal Loving, chair of the nomination committee. Other members include Gary Entrican, Dirk Werling, and Alejandra Capozzo. Please feel free to contact any member to complete a full package.

The recipient of the Zoetis DVI Award will be chosen by a selection committee from the international research community, chaired by Prof. Paul Wood who was awarded in 2019.

Award Criteria:
• Stature as an internationally recognized authority and leader in the field of Veterinary Immunology, evidenced by committee membership, panels and outreach activities that have influenced change by internationally promoting the field of veterinary immunology
• Evidence of excellence and impact to the field. Candidates should provide a list of their publications, select their top five peer-reviewed papers published in international journals and provide a paragraph describing the impact of each of these five papers.
• Provide five exemplars of contributions to veterinary immunology education, student training and mentorship of early career researchers/postdoctoral fellows that have supported the development of future generations of veterinary immunologists

The nomination package must include:
• A covering letter from the nominee describing how she/he meets the award criteria described above
• A statement indicating her/his willingness to attend the 13th IVIS to receive the Zoetis DVI award in person and deliver the Zoetis DVI lecture
• The nominee’s curriculum vitae
• No more than three letters in support of the nomination from peers

Previous recipients of the DVI Award are:

12th IVIS 2019 Professor Paul Wood
11th IVIS 2016 Professor Serge Muyldermans
10th IVIS 2013 Professor Cynthia Baldwin
9th IVIS 2010 Professor Doug Antczak
8th IVIS 2007 Dr John Butler
7th IVIS 2004 Professor Wendy Brown
6th IVIS 2001 Dr Travis McGuire
5th IVIS 1998 Dr Alan Husband
4th IVIS 1995 Dr Richard Binns

More Activities

Related activities from Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC).

Taking veterinary immunology forward in Latin-America

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

VIC Newsletter Contribution

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

New working groups within IUIS VIC Toolkit Subcommittee

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

Travel Awards – EVIW 2018

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

International Veterinary Immunology Symposium (IVIS) 2016

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

Keystone Bursaries in May

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)

Veterinary Immunology Keystone Meeting 2015

Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC)