Live Webinar: Qian Zhang “Inborn errors of type I IFN immunity in patients with life-threatening COVID-19”

Monday 19th April 2021

Clinical outcome upon infection with SARS-CoV-2 ranges from silent infection to lethal COVID-19. We identified autosomal-recessive or autosomal-dominant deficiencies of genes in the type I IFN circuit in 23 patients (3.5%) 17 to 77 years of age. We showed that inborn errors of TLR3- and IRF7- dependent type I IFN immunity can underlie life-threatening COVID-19 pneumonia in patients with no prior severe infection.

PRESENTER

Qian Zhang was trained as a pediatrician. After she graduated from the Medical School of Fudan University in Shanghai, she joined Dr Helen ’u’s lab at the NIH as a postdoc to be trained in scientific research, in the field of inborn errors of immunity. In 2017, she first joined as a visiting scholar but soon as a group leader at the lab of Prof Jean-Laurent Casanova and Laurent ’bel’s lab, and focus her research in human genetics of respiratory viral infections.

MODERATOR

Jonny Peter

 


Event Details


Upcoming Events

AAI Introductory Course in Immunology

Monday 12th July 2021

AAI Advanced Course in Immunology

Sunday 25th July 2021

FAIS 2021 – 11th African Congress of Immunology

Sunday 1st August 2021

IVIS 2022

Sunday 8th August 2021

7th European Veterinary Immunology Workshop

Sunday 29th August 2021

6th European Congress of Immunology – ECI 2021

Wednesday 1st September 2021

17th International Workshop on Langerhans Cells and Related Myeloid Cells of the Skin

Sunday 3rd October 2021 at To be determined

Cytokines 2021: 9th Annual Meeting of the International Cytokine & Interferon Society – CELTIC CYTOKINES SENSING AND INTERPRETING CYTOKINE & INTERFERON CUES

Sunday 17th October 2021

FIMSA 2021

Sunday 31st October 2021